More pizza (as if that’s a bad thing)

As part of my final project for online journalism, I’m creating a website and focusing my attention on pizza.  Pizza is one of the best things I can suggest to college cooks, since it’s cheap and actually really easy to make, which is why I talk about it so much.  Alas, we’re forgetting the best part: the taste.  That’s right, nobody can deny how delicious homemade pizza is.  Now don’t get me wrong, the classic options (cheese, pepperoni) are always great; but I much prefer trying unique recipes when it comes to pizza, and a new one I recently tried making for my friends is a barbecue chicken pie with onions and cilantro.  Don’t be scared to try new things when it comes to making pizza, it’s one of the best mediums to get creative with.  


Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Pizza dough (1 1/2 lb ball)
  • One boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • Barbecue sauce: I used Olde Cape Cod, Stonewall Kitchen has a great honey barbecue sauce too. You’ll need about 1/4 cup for the chicken and another few tablespoons for the pizza
  • Shredded mozzarella cheese (about 3/4 bag)
  • Cilantro: fresh would be ideal, but I didn’t have any at the time, so I used dried and it worked just as well
  • 1/4 red onion OR scallions (I love scallions on this pizza, but I had an onion in my kitchen, and didn’t have any scallions: but I definitely recommend scallions)
  • Crushed red pepper (about 1 teaspoon)
  • Garlic powder (about 1/2 teaspoon)
  • Black pepper(about 1/2 teaspoon)
  • Dried oregano (about 1 teaspoon)
  • Dried basil (about 1/2 teaspoon)

Directions:

  1. Make sure you cover the dough in flour, and leave enough time to let the bread rise in a bowl covered loosely in Saran wrap at room temperature (at least 4 hours or so).
  2. Heat a small pan to medium-high, and drizzle olive oil and pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees.
  3. To prepare the chicken, rinse and dry it, then smother it in barbecue sauce and rub basil, black pepper and crushed red pepper all over both sides, then place it in the heated pan and let it cook thoroughly, reapplying the ingredients periodically while it cooks.
  4. While the chicken is cooking, you can begin preparing the bread dough.  Roll the ball out over a floured surface with a rolling pin, or using your hands and a spoon, making sure you rid of any air bubbles.  Before you add anything to the pizza, put the dough onto the pan you’re going to cook it on: it will make the process much easier.
  5. When it’s flat and rectangular, spread a few tablespoons of barbecue sauce over the dough.  I went light with the sauce, but if I could do it again I would add much more since it was a little dry.  Think of the barbecue sauce almost as a replacement for red sauce on a traditional pizza: but don’t use quite as much.
  6. Make sure you check the chicken before you move on and take it off the heat if it’s ready.  Then chop it into tiny pieces to top the pizza.  You can also chop the red onion (or scallions) at this point, into very tiny pieces.
  7. Sprinkle the cheese over the entire pizza, covering every corner and even reaching to some of the crust.
  8. Add the chopped chicken, spreading it evenly over the pizza, and next the cilantro and either scallions or chopped onions.
  9. Sprinkle evenly black pepper, oregano, garlic powder, and a little crushed red pepper if you like it on the spicier side.
  10. Put the pizza into the oven at 400 degrees for about 17-20 minutes (make sure you watch it, all ovens vary) but this should be pretty accurate.
  11. Let it cool then slice: I find with rectangular pizzas slicing into squares works best.

Some of my friends like dipping this pizza into a side of barbecue sauce or Balsamic dressing, but it’s also great on its own.  Enjoy!

Here’s some of the pictures I took.  I apologize for not having a complete guide: I was making a few different pizzas at a time, so I didn’t manage to document every part.  That’s also why you’ll notice a few different kinds in the pictures, and if any look good, try them on your own, or leave a comment and I’ll be sure to post the recipe 🙂

Let the floured dough rise

 

Cook the chicken in barbecue sauce

 

Add all the ingredients and let it cook (Again sorry for the lack of pictures!)

 

The finished product

 

Try these the unique pizza recipes:

Everything from Thai pizza to chocolate pizza at the Food Network

Recipes using every topping you could imagine at Pizza Recipe

Tons of different pizzas at All Recipes

Leave a Reply

